Tuesday, 24 May 2011

An A to Zee of me, CP

I would love to be a celebrity. Not just for the international fame, adoration and oodles of cash and freebies, but so that I could maybe, one day, answer questions in an interview like The Guardian's Q & A.

Who doesn't like talking about themselves? I could go on all day on topics such as 'What's your biggest phobia?' or 'When was the last time you were most happy?'. It's so mindless, yet these answers give such great insights into famous people's lives and the person you thought you knew from stage or screen is actually someone very different.

Anyway, the other day I stumbled across this blog post and I felt like I had won the lottery. Yes! This is what I started blogging for, so I could write endlessly about myself in a Q & A format! So here goes, hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it:

A. Age:

28, 29 in July, hurtling towards 30 with gritted teeth and an air of fake nonchalance.

B. Bed size:

Queen bed with PILLOWTOP MATTRESS. I had never heard of this sleep sensation before moving to the States and don't know if you get them in the UK, but it's a few inches of sumptuous cushioning ON TOP of your standard mattress. Simply heaven.

C. Chore you dislike:

Any 'cleaning'. I am very good at tidying and washing/ironing, but faced with a bathroom to clean, I will procrastinate with the best of them.

D. Dogs:

Oh yes. One dog. Mr Bob (see here). The most beautiful, but also most deranged Doodle ever created.

E. Essential start to the day:

A cup of proper tea in my most favourite mug. I have the teabags brought over from the UK whenever anyone visits as US teabags are proper s***, sorry!!

F. Favourite colour:

Mmm, a toughie, I would say I don't have one, but I love hot pink and grey on my daughter if that counts?

G. Gold or Silver:

Silver jewellery for best. Gold for costume and for shoes!

H. Height:

5'5", so I've always assumed! Completely average...

I. Instruments I play(ed):

My parents were very good at allowing me to indulge my need for music, even though I am tone deaf and can't read music AT ALL. In my years at school, I tried my hand at the violin, flute, piano AND guitar until I finally gave up. Full marks for perseverance though, don't you think?

J. Job:

I don't work here in the US due to visa restrictions, although my work as a housewife is FAR harder than any office job blah, blah, blah!! Back in the UK, I worked in Sales, but always wished I had studied Journalism or Teaching.

K. Kids:

One, Imogen Louise, 10 months.

L. Live:

Just outside of Greenville, South Carolina, USA. Born in Staffordshire, UK. G'ville is a GREAT city, I would recommend it to anyone, just not in July/August when the heat will burn a hole straight through your head.

M. Mum's name:

Helen Louise, but goes by Louise (see here).

N. Nicknames:

I have quite a few. Clare can't really be shortened, so people have naturally elaborated on it: Clare Bear, Clairol, Clarey, Bubbie, and one leftfield one that seemed to stick at school, Zebra (after a night out wearing a zebra print shirt). It was the 90s OK, dont judge me!

O. Overnight hospital stays:

One, when I gave birth.

P. Pet peeves:

Waiting to be served in a shop and the assistants just standing around chatting/ignoring you. Grrr.

Q. Quote from a movie:

'We've been coming to this party for 8 years now and in no way is that depressing', Anchorman. There are too many quotes from that film, I could be here all day. Love it.

R. Righty or Lefty:


S. Siblings:

One brother, Adam, aged 25. What a great brother to have!

T. Time you wake up:

Between 6.30-7am just after James gets up and the baby wakes up. No lie-ins in this house at the moment!

U. Underwear:

Yes. I am no Lindsay Lohan.

V. Vegetables you don't like:

I still have a pregnancy hangover for sweet potato which made me vomit and also lettuce and I have had a lifelong dislike for each other although the Cold War seems to be thawing slightly and I have recently branched out into having the odd leaf or two in a sandwich. Bad times!

X. X-rays you've had:

Just teeth. I'm (thankfully) not very interesting on the medical front.

Y. Yummy food you make:

I've been told I make a mean lasagne. This is true.

Z. Zoo animal favourites:

This is a lame question, but I suppose what else goes with Z? Tigers are probably my favourite, followed by flamingoes, just for their cool 80s colours!

So, that's me, what about you?


  1. Hi from a fellow Upstate Carolinian! I found your blog from Before The Baby Wakes and I love it! I know you probably get this question often but why South Carolina? Lol this is from someone who's been here her whole life so I don't see its appeal but everyone is different :) Looking forward to future posts!

  2. Hey! Thanks for stopping by! I suppose SC chose us rather than the other way around. My husband works for a company in Easley that he was distributor for back in the UK. He had wanted to live in America for a long time so when the opportunity arose, we went for it!

  3. I hit 30 this July...I wish it was 29 again


I'd love to hear from you so comment away!